Project Description

Sun city Lienz
– high mountains and southern flair

We have already heard about it: Lienz describes itself as the sun city and claims that the south begins here. You can say and write a lot, but it is still an average of 2,020 hours of sunshine per year and a truly Mediterranean flair in the city. Stroll ingly through the city a bit in the summer and you quickly realize: You couldn’t describe the beautiful Lienz more accurately. And since man does not live by sun, south and hours of sunshine alone, Lienz also has a lot to offer.

The old town between the rivers Isel and Drava with its numerous cafés, bars, restaurants, boutiques and specialist shops invites you to stroll. The proximity to Italy is clearly felt – the southern flair gives the city a very special atmosphere: “Dolce Vita” is lived here!

From the Sonnenstadt it goes high – directly from the city you can take the Lienz cable cars to 2278 m. With wonderful views of the Dolomites, you can go hiking and mountain biking here in summer and skiing, snowboarding or winter hiking in winter.

At the Grandhotel you are right in the middle of it all. The hotel is located right on the banks of the Isel River, within walking distance of the Old Town.

From Romans, counts and long tradition

Lienz has a long and eventful history: 2000 years ago, “Aguntum” was elevated to a city by the ancient Romans and was an important trading point on the famous trade route “Via Julia Augusta”. In the museum “Aguntum” you can take a look back to the time of the Romans.

In the Middle Ages, the town was the seat of the counts of Görzer, who cleared the valley and built many castles and castles, some of which remain today, such as Bruck Castle above Lienz.

A cultural-historical tour of the Sunny City is worthwhile – castles, churches and museums tell the history of the city and make Lienz a cultural treasure chest.

Traditions and customs are also cultivated in East Tyrol. The traditional highlight of the festive summer is the Lienz Old Town Festival, where you can admire regional crafts, authentic costumes, traditional dances and culinary delights.

Highlights in Lienz & East Tyrol
Cityguide Lienz

Sport in Lienz

Swimming

In summer, there are various bathing facilities around Lienz. The Dolomite bath Lienz is the largest outdoor pool in the region and offers various pools and a 60m long water slide.

The Tristacher See beach is idyllically located in the forest, 2.5 miles from Lienz.

Paragliding

The alpine meadows at Zettersfeld and Hochstein are ideal starting points for paragliders. If you just want to get a taste of this fascinating sport, you can experience a paragliding tandem flight over the sunny city with AIRTIME AUSTRIA.

Fish

Around the capital of East Tyrol there are a multitude of exemplary cherished fish waters. From the wild romantic mountain streams to the rather calmer waters of the rivers out of the valley – in East Tyrol live 33 different fish species such as trout, char, pike, carp, zander. Of great interest to true fishermen is the fact that in East Tyrol ‘adventure fishing’ is still possible. Or where else can you swing the fly rod at about 2,500 m above sea level in emerald-green lakes?

Fishermen’s day tickets for Lake Tristacher are available in the Dolomite Bath.

Riding

Freedom at the loose reins – Alpine riding in the Hohe Tauern National Park. Hiking along the glacier river “Isel” with an impressive mountain panorama. Riding lessons English and Western.

Ideal for refreshing existing riding skills or as preparation for horseback riding. Everyone experiences varied and individually designed riding lessons with us.

Here you can get more information.

Rafting and canyoning

The Isel above Lienz is considered one of the best rafting routes in the Alps. Grab your helmet, life jacket and paddle and get to know the fascination of the “white water”. The Rafting Center Osttirol offers tours of varying degrees of difficulty.

For more information, please contact Rafting in Carinthia and East Tyrol.

For more information

Current prospectus
Benefits of direct booking
Book last minute

Project Description

Sonnenstadt Lienz
– hohe Berge und südländischer Flair

Man hat ja schon davon gehört: Lienz bezeichnet sich selbst als die Sonnenstadt und behauptet, dass hier der Süden beginne. Sagen und schreiben kann man viel, aber es sind dennoch sage und schreibe durchschnittlich 2.020 Sonnenstunden im Jahr und ein tatsächlich mediterran angehauchtes Flair in der Stadt. Ein bisschen im Sommer durch die Stadt flanieren und man merkt schnell: Treffender könnte man das schöne Lienz nicht beschreiben. Und da der Mensch nicht von Sonne, Süden und Sonnenstunden allein lebt, hat Lienz auch sonst viel zu bieten.

Die Altstadt zwischen den Flüssen Isel und Drau mit ihren zahlreichen Cafés, Bars, Restaurants, Boutiquen und Fachgeschäften lädt Sie zum Flanieren ein. Die Nähe zu Italien ist deutlich zu spüren – das südländische Flair verleiht der Stadt eine ganz besondere Atmosphäre: Hier wird „Dolce Vita“ gelebt!

Von der Sonnenstadt aus geht es hoch hinaus – direkt von der Stadt aus bringen Sie die Lienzer Bergbahnen auf 2278 m. Mit herrlichem Blick auf die Dolomiten können Sie hier im Sommer wandern und mountain biken und im Winter Ski fahren, snowboarden oder genüsslich winterwandern.

Im Grandhotel sind Sie mittendrin. Das Hotel liegt direkt am Ufer der Isel – nur wenige Gehminuten von der Altstadt entfernt.

Von Römern, Grafen und langer Tradition

Lienz blickt auf eine lange und ereignisreiche Geschichte zurück: Bereits vor 2000 Jahren wurde „Aguntum“ von den alten Römern zur Stadt erhoben und war ein wichtiger Handelspunkt an der berühmten Handelsstraße „Via Julia Augusta“. Im Museum „Aguntum“ können Sie einen Blick zurück in die Zeit der Römer werfen.

Im Mittelalter war die Stadt dann Sitz der Görzer Grafen, die das Tal rodeten und viele Burgen und Schlösser errichteten, die zum Teil bis heute erhalten sind, wie das Schloss Bruck oberhalb von Lienz.

Ein kulturhistorischer Rundgang durch die Sonnenstadt lohnt sich – Schlösser, Kirchen und Museen erzählen die Geschichte der Stadt und machen Lienz zu einer kulturellen Schatztruhe.

Auch Traditionen und Brauchtümer werden in Osttirol gepflegt. Traditioneller Höhepunkt des Festsommers ist das Lienzer Altstadtfest, bei dem es regionales Handwerk, authentische Trachten, traditionelle Tänze und kulinarische Köstlichkeiten zu bestaunen gibt.

Highlights in Lienz & Osttirol
Cityguide Lienz

Sport in Lienz

 Schwimmen

Im Sommer finden sich rund um Lienz verschiedene Bademöglichkeiten. Das Dolomitenbad Lienz ist das größte Freibad der Region und bietet verschiedene Becken und eine 60m lange Wasserrutsche.

Das Strandbad Tristacher See liegt idyllisch im Wald, 4 km von Lienz entfernt.

Paragleiten

Die Almwiesen am Zettersfeld und am Hochstein sind ideale Startplätze für Gleitschirmflieger. Wer einfach mal in diese faszinierende Sportart hineinschnuppern möchte, kann mit AIRTIME AUSTRIA einen Gleitschirm Tandemflug über der Sonnenstadt erleben.

 Fischen

Rund um die Hauptstadt Osttirols gibt es eine Vielzahl vorbildlich gehegter Fischgewässer. Von den wildromantischen Bergbächen bis zu den eher ruhigeren Gewässern der Flüsse talauswärts – in Osttirol leben 33 verschiedene Fischarten wie zum Beispiel Forellen, Saiblinge, Hechte, Karpfen, Zander. Von großem Interesse für wahrhaftige Fischer ist die Tatsache, dass in Osttirol doch tatsächlich noch ,Abenteuerfischen‘ möglich ist. Oder wo sonst kann man auf etwa 2.500 m Meereshöhe in smaragdrünen Seen die Fliegenrute schwingen?

Fischer-Tageskarten für den Tristacher See erhalten Sie im Dolomitenbad.

Reiten

Freiheit am losen Zügel – Alpines Reiten im Nationalpark Hohe Tauern. Wanderreiten entlang des Gletscherflusses „Isel“ mit imposantem Bergpanorama. Reitunterricht Englisch und Western.

Ideal zum Auffrischen vorhandener Reitkenntnisse oder als Vorbereitung für Ausritte. Jeder erlebt bei uns abwechslungsreichen und individuell gestalteten Reitunterricht.

HIER bekommen Sie weitere Informationen.

Rafting und Canyoning

Die Isel oberhalb von Lienz gilt als eine der besten Rafting-Strecken der Alpen. Schnappen Sie sich Helm, Schwimmweste und Paddel und lernen Sie die Faszination des „weißen Wassers“ kennen. Das Rafting Center Osttirol bietet Touren in unterschiedlichen Schwierigkeitsgraden an.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie bei Rafting in Kärnten und Osttirol.

Weitere Infos

Aktuelles Prospekt
Vorteile Direktbuchung
Last Minute buchen